top of page

About Us

The National Council Against Smoking was founded in 1976 and has been instrumental in lobbying government for legislation to control tobacco use. In addition to this it has also played an active role in tobacco control advocacy and policy development in the SADC region, African region and globally.


Executive Director

Professor Olalekan Ayo-Yusuf

Our Board

Chair: Professor Angela Matthee 

Dr Yussuf Saloojee 


Professor Thea De Wet


Professor Neo Morojele 

Dr Jerry Chaka 

Professor Nicola Christofides

The National Council Against Smoking works in partnership with: 

bottom of page